Worton named to judicial conference

A local judge has been chosen to serve a two-year term on the Judicial Conference of Indiana.

Bartholomew County Superior Court 1 Judge Jim Worton will represent a district that also includes Brown, Jackson, Jennings and Decatur counties.

The 46-member conference directs activities designed to promote an exchange of experience and suggestions regarding the operation of Indiana’s judicial system.

In addition, members also strive to promote both the continuing education of judges and a better public understanding of the judiciary.

Two jurists from surrounding counties also serve on the conference board: Johnson Superior Court 2 Judge Cynthia S. Emkes and Shelby Superior Court 2 Judge David N. Riggins.

Worton, a former Columbus police chief who was first elected to the bench in 2012, was earlier appointed to the State Judiciary’s Courthouse Security Committee.

Author photo
Mark Webber is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at mwebber@therepublic.com or 812-379-5636.