Brownstown Speedway will host two nights of racing next weekend, with both nights having the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in town for the Jackson 100 weekend.

Action will begin Sept. 22 with a tribute to retired racer Steve Barnett. Barnett, who participated in more Jackson 100s than any other driver in track history, will be honored during the night, which will conclude with a 30-lap $7,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event. Also racing will be the Indiana Pro Late Models in the fifth annual Bowman 50. The pure stocks will also be on the race schedule.

On Sept. 23 will be the 38th annual Jackson 100, paying $15,000 to win. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee, is the six-time and defending race winner. Bloomquist is also the reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion. There will be a complete show with time trials, heat races, B-mains and the 100-lap feature race. Also on the docket are modifieds and super stocks.

This year, Josh Richards is the current LOLMDS points leader heading into the Jackson 100, with Tim McCreadie, Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens and Don O’Neal in the top five of the points standings.

Gregg Satterlee leads the LOLMDS Rookie of the Year standings, just ahead of 17-year-old sensation Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville.

Current points leaders at Brownstown include Devin Gilpin of Columbus (super late models), Marty O’Neal of Spencer (Indiana Pro late models), Matt Boknecht of Seymour (modifieds), Jamey Wilson of Seymour (super stocks), Tim Rivers of Salem (pure stocks) and Donnie Modesty of Seymour (hornets).

Saturday night, Brownstown will host its final tuneup before next weekend’s Jackson 100 with a full slate of super late models, Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more info, visit

Twin Cities results

Jeremy Hines of Seymour won the crate late models feature on Saturday at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon, while his brother Jacoby Hines of Nineveh won the modified feature. Troy Clark of North Vernon won the pure stock main event at Twin Cities, and Jacob Owens of North Vernon won the hornet feature. Jamey Wilson took top honors in the super stock class.

Twin Cities will host its regular racing program Saturday, consisting of crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Routier gets first career victory

Tory Routier of Edinburgh won the first feature event of his career Saturday at Thunder Valley Speedway in Salem when he captured the pure stocks feature race. Routier’s car is sponsored by Hoosier Machine and Welding, Piercefield Mowing, W&W Racing, Terry Cummings Racing Engines, Cranmer Race Bodies, Durabuilt Race Products and Scorpion 1 Chassis.

Davenport wins World 100 at Eldora

Jonathan Davenport won his second World 100 in three years Saturday at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Davenport dominated the race, leading all 100 laps to earn $50,000 for the victory. He was the first driver since 2003 to lead every lap of the main event.

The traditional race drew 104 cars to the half-mile facility. It was also announced that the crowd was a record for any event in the history of the track that first opened in 1954. Stewart has been the owner of the track since 2004.

Gregg Satterlee finished second in second, with Mike Marlar grabbing third place. Completing the top five were Dale McDowell and Darrell Lanigan. The rest of the top 10 finishers were Chris Madden, Zack Dohm, Billy Moyer, Chris Simpson and Brandon Sheppard.

Next weekend will be a busy one at Eldora, with the running of the 36th Annual Four Crown Nationals. On Sept. 22 will be the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars, plus Eldora Stock Cars in action. On Sept. 23 will be the USAC National Midget, Sprint Car and Silver Crown events.

For more info, visit

Jackson races at Du Quoin

Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown finished 13th in the USAC Silver Crown race at the Du Quoin State Fairgrounds Sept. 3 in Du Quoin, Illinois. The event was won by Kody Swanson.

Lawrenceburg racing Saturday

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be racing Saturday night with a full program of sprint cars, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

The event billed as the Night of Champions will be the final points race of the season. Current division leaders are Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford (sprint cars); David Spille of Harrison, Ohio (modifieds); Chris Combs of Hamilton, Ohio (pure stocks); and Cordell Moore of Versailles (hornets).

This week in racing history

From 40 years ago in 1977, Randy Kinser won the sprint car feature at Paragon Speedway. Larry Miller was second, with Bobby Black of Taylorsville, Larry Gates and Steve Kinser completing the top five.

From 30 years ago in 1987, Steve Barnett won the late models feature at Brownstown over Ray Godsey, Bob Pierce, Paul Shafer and Dusty Chapman.

Joe Johnson of North Vernon won the street stocks feature at Brownstown over Mike Fields, Mark Arthur, Terry Arthur and Jeff Wilson.

Bob Johnson of Columbus won the bombers main event. Jeff Hehman finished second, with Troy Burton of Columbus placing third. John Mull and Gary Green completed the top-five drivers.