School News – February 10

School news

Local preschool opens registration

Registration is open at First Presbyterian Preschool for the 2020-21 school year. Classes are available for ages 2-PreK. Children must turn 2 by Aug. 1 to be enrolled. Registration packets can be found online at under the preschool tab. For questions or to schedule a tour, please call the preschool at 812-376-6277.

School foundation to have Trivia Night

Bartholomew Consolidated School Foundation will have its Second Annual Trivia Night on Feb. 15.

The event will be at 6:30 p.m. at the Factory 12 Event Loft in downtown Columbus. The event is for those age 21 and older, with an open bar and dinner planned.

Those interested in attending may purchase tables and tickets at

INDOT announces Paint the Plow opportunity

The Indiana Department of Transportation has launched the 2020 Paint the Plow campaign and invites Indiana schools to submit an application to participate.

Paint the Plow is open to all middle schools, high schools and career-technical schools across the state. Schools/programs will be paired with a local INDOT unit to paint an INDOT snow plow blade with original artwork representing their school. Applications and additional program details can be found at

In addition to being seen in full service during the winter weather months, the blades may be used at events within the school’s community to enhance public awareness, promote safety and foster greater appreciation of both INDOT and the school.

Only students who are currently enrolled in the applicant school may participate in the creation, execution and completion of the art project.

For more information or questions about the Paint the Plow campaign, visit

Farm Bureau accepts scholarship applications

Indiana Farm Bureau is now accepting applications for its student scholarship program for the 2020-2021 school year. Each year, Farm Bureau awards 13 scholarships to incoming or current college students who are pursuing a career in agriculture.

The scholarships offered are the Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship, two Collegiate Farm Bureau Scholarships and 10 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarships. The scholarship money can be applied to tuition, housing, books and other educational expenses.

The Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship is a $1,000 scholarship named after the former INFB president, who served from 1976 to 1987. The scholarship is awarded to one student annually, based on their educational successes and career aspirations. Additionally, INFB awards 10 district scholarships. The Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship is a $500 scholarship named after the long-time INFB 2nd vice president, who served the organization for 26 years.

Applicants for the Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship and the Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship must be incoming or current college students pursuing a degree in agriculture and members of INFB.

For existing Collegiate Farm Bureau members, INFB awards two $1,000 scholarships annually. Winners of these scholarships must be members of an INFB collegiate chapter at Purdue University, Vincennes University, Huntington University or Ancilla College.

To apply for a scholarship, visit INFB’s scholarships and grants page. The deadline to apply is March 1. To learn more, visit