Heritage Fund announces Lilly Scholar recipients

COLUMBUS, Ind. — Heritage Fund — The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County, announced Friday that Columbus North High School seniors Megan Allman and Ashley Lara will receive the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Bartholomew County.

Megan Allman
Ashley Lara

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement,
academic achievement, character and leadership. Each Lilly Endowment Community
Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per
year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a
full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private
nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate
in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and
opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the
scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to
Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

“It is very difficult to choose; they are all worthy, but we take great care in awarding this
coveted scholarship to two great kids each year,” said Matt Kirr, HFBC board and scholarship selection chairman. “We appreciate the effort they all have made to get here and encourage future generations to study hard, be involved and continue to meet the high standards that Bartholomew County has set for winning this award.”

Allman, daughter of Scott and Sandra Allman, has been active in CNHS media, peer
mentoring, National Honor Society, environmental club, youth ministry and Dancers Studio
Inc. She plans to pursue a dance major.

Lara, daughter of Juan Lara and Anabelly Sanchez, has been active in Sound of North
marching band, jazz band, wind ensemble and as a youth ambassador. She plans to pursue
physician assistant studies.

Heritage Fund received 48 applications for this year’s scholarships, from which 10 finalists
were selected. Scholarship applicants were evaluated by the selection committee on
academic performance; scholastic and community involvement; employment; leadership;
financial need; responses to short answer questions and a 450-word essay; two
recommendations; and finalist interviews. Scholarship nominees were then submitted to
the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, ICI,
for nomination approval.

Finalists were: Zane Glick and Nicole Meza Sanchez from CNHS; Zoe Barnsfather, Ella Thompson and Eliza Whiteside from Columbus East High School; Jessyka Brown and Carlie Menefee from Columbus Signature Academy-New Tech; and Graham Kennedy from Hauser Jr-Sr High School.
To date, 53 Bartholomew County students have been named Lilly Endowment Community

For more on this story, see Saturday’s Republic.