Elks award national, state scholarships

The Columbus Elks Lodge #521 presented Matthew Liu, a graduating senior from Columbus North High School, with a $1,000 Most Valuable Student scholarship. This award was granted through the Elks National Scholarship program and will be provided annually for four years.

Also at the Elks state level, the following graduating seniors won one time $1,000 scholarships to the college of their choice. They are Zoe Barnsfather and Olivia Shoaf from Columbus East High School and Rose Yang from Franklin Community High School. Each of these scholarship winners applied and were selected out of hundreds of applicants.

Since 1931, the Elks National Foundation has helped students recognize their academic dreams. Every year, the Elks award more than $3 million dollars in college scholarships for outstanding, service-minded high school seniors.

Local high school seniors who are interested in applying for next year’s Elks Scholarship should contact scholarship chair Joanne Friedgood thru the Columbus Elks Lodge at 812-379-4386 or email [email protected]